Final Week for MMDP Registration

September 26, 2016

A reminder that this is the last week of registration for the upcoming Fall 2016 MAA Workshop and Mid Michigan Digital Practitioners Meeting.

The Fall Workshop is sponsored by the Michigan Archival Association as part of MAA’s efforts to promote professional development in the archival community.

Posters are still being accepted for the Friday meeting. It’s a great opportunity to share your work with folks in the digital community from around Michigan.

From the MMDP Planning Team:
This is the final week of registration for the Fall Mid Michigan Digital Practitioners Workshop and Meeting to be held at the main Michigan State University Library in East Lansing. This event is sponsored by the Michigan Archival Association, MSU Libraries and the MSU Archives.

On Thursday, October 13 we have 2 excellent workshops scheduled. In the morning, we have “Policies & Strategies for Managing Digital Assets” led by Matt Schultz and Ranti Junus. In the afternoon, we have “XML/XSLT” led by Nicole Smeltekop and Robin Dean. More information can be found on our website,

Then, on Friday, October 14, we have a full day of presentations and posters. The full agenda is available on our website.

You can register for the workshops and meeting via our form at

Watch our website for further information on parking and updates to the agenda.

Also, we are still accepting posters for this meeting. Let us know if you have one to share. (

MMDP Planning Team

Hope to see you in East Lansing!

MAA@ SAA, Part 2

August 4, 2016


Day 2 here in Atlanta, and our table has been enhanced with a poster detailing the Adopt an Archive program!


August 3, 2016


Our info table at SAA 2016! Filled with good stuff from MAA, Wayne State, Reuther Library, Detroit Sound Conservancy, Capital Area District Libraries, Michigan Oral History Association and more.

If you’re in Atlanta be sure to stop by and say Hi, leave a suggestion and even grab a piece of candy for those late afternoon sessions!


Annual Meeting Evaluation

July 18, 2016

If you attended this year’s annual meeting, you should have received an email on July 14 with a link to your annual meeting evaluation.

1) The link will expire in sixty days, but we’re hoping to get most of our feedback within the next 30 days.

2) If you are interested in assisting at the annual meeting next year (to be held in Traverse City) or are interested in moderating a session, be sure to indicate that in the section on “Become an Active Member”.

3) If you didn’t receive an email with access to the annual meeting evaluation and you attended, email Christiane Evaskis-Garrett (cevaskis at gmail dot com) or Carol Vandenberg (cvandenberg at madonna dot edu) and we’ll sort it out.

Looking forward to hearing your responses!

Annual Meeting Tweets Storified

July 18, 2016

Looking to relive some of that 2016 Annual Meeting magic? Well, now you can through our Storified #2016MAA tweets! Follow the link below to revisit those memorable (or otherwise) posts assembled in chronological order.

MAA Annual Meeting Room Change

June 16, 2016

For everyone attending MAA 2016, we have one meeting room change to note: All events scheduled to take place in RIVERSIDE are now in BIG 10 C. (This means the Registration Table is also moved to outside of BIG 10 C!)

Other rooms/events remain the same.

Meet the Candidates

June 8, 2016

With only a week away until the annual meeting, we would like to introduce you to the members who have agreed to run for elective office. Elections will be held at the Business Meeting at the annual meeting.

Vice President/ President- Elect

Nicole Garrett Smeltekop

Nicole Garrett Smeltekop has been a member of the Michigan Archival Association since 2008. She was appointed to the MAA Board in 2010, and was elected as a Member-At-Large in 2013. Ms. Smeltekop has been an active participant in the MAA Annual Meetings, as both a speaker and as a member of the MAA Program Committee. She chaired the 2015 Program Committee, and is co-chairing it this year. She is also a member of the Marilyn McNitt Scholarship Committee. In addition to MAA, she serves on the Michigan State Historical Records Advisory Board, and as a planning committee member for the Mid-Michigan Digital Practitioners. At the national level, she is a member of the ALA Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS) Membership Committee and ALA ALCTS Cataloging and Metadata Management Recruitment and Mentoring Committee. She is currently a Special Materials Catalog Librarian at the Michigan State University Libraries, a role she has had for two years. Prior to her hire at MSU, she was the College Archivist at Albion College for four years, and a Project Archivist at the Archives of Michigan for four years. She graduated from Wayne State University in 2006 with her MLIS and a concentration in Archival Administration, and from Michigan State University with a degree in History in 2005. She has thoroughly enjoyed being involved in MAA for the last eight years, and looks forward to the opportunity to continue to serve archivists in Michigan.

At-Large Board positions (2 available)

Annie Benefiel

Annie Benefiel is Assistant Archivist at Grand Valley State University. Before joining GVSU in 2014, she worked as a processing archivist in the Special and Area Studies Collections at the University of Florida and as an archives assistant at Yale University’s Beinecke Library. She attained her MSLIS with a concentration in Archives Management from the Simmons Graduate School of Library and Information Science in 2011. She served on New England Archivists’s Local Arrangements Committee (2012) and Communications Committee (2012-2013). She is also currently serving on the ArchivesSpace Nominations Committee. A native of Central Indiana, she got started in archives at the age of 14, when she participated in a job shadowing program with archivists at the Indiana State Museum and Indianapolis Children’s Museum.

Heidi Butler

Heidi Butler has been the Local History Librarian at the Capital Area District Libraries since February 2014. Her previous positions include the archives of Zayed University in Dubai, United Arab Emirates; the Kalamazoo College archives; the Rush University Medical Center archives in Chicago; and the Local History and Genealogy department of the Wichita Public Library in Kansas. She completed her Library Science Master’s degree at the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill and is a member of the Academy of Certified Archivists. Kalamazoo is her hometown.

Lindsay Hiltunen

Lindsay Hiltunen, MLIS and MA, is the Senior Archivist at the Michigan Technological University Archives and Copper Country Historical Collections in Houghton, Michigan. She began her professional career as a Librarian with the District of Columbia Public Library in 2008, but is very happy to be home in her native Copper Country in Michigan’s Upper Peninsula. She has planned and implemented several new programs, such as the current migration of the Keweenaw Digital Archives to a new digital asset management platform. Lindsay looks forward to growing in the profession and working with Archivists and Special Collections Librarians throughout Michigan in the years ahead.

Sarah Roberts

Sarah Roberts is the Acquisitions Archivist at the MSU Archives and Historical Collections, where she has worked since 2002. She earned her MLS from the University of Wisconsin Madison with a specialization in archives. In addition to serving as a MAA Board Member at Large, she is chair of the Marilyn McNitt Scholarship Committee.